Testimonials 2018-02-04T17:41:04+00:00

David Stone

As attorney for the resident

Review relates to January 2018.

As attorney for the resident for many years, she was admitted in November 2003 after two enforced moves; one because a home closed and the second where the room was unsuitable. Despite deteriorating health over the years, I am convinced that, because of the excellent care given, she attained her 100th birthday a few months ago. Despite her circumstances, the staff still did their best to celebrate the occasion and it was only recently that she died. I was impressed by the compassionate reaction of the staff when dealing with the personal effects as they demonstrated their care and concern for her. Senior staff were invariably available if needed both by telephone and email, and my wife (a trained nurse and former care home manager) was always impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the resident, a lovely tidy room with records clearly showing regular attention in respect of diet and hydration.

Lynda H

Daughter of Holly, resident 2013 -2017

Before commencing my own review of White Gables I read my fellow reviewers’ comments above, ( Gill L, Sandra, Anne N and Alison). Their personal and detailed reviews echo completely my mum’s and my own experience of all the services consistently provided by the White Gables residential team. Specifically I would highlight the following descriptive words used above devoted/dedication, ‘home from home’, professional, expertise, compassion, good humour, treated as individual, family, dignity, first class, patient and tolerant, interesting activities, nutritious meals, care planning and emotional support.

I CANNOT RECOMMEND WHITE GABLES HIGHLY ENOUGH. As mum and I did, why not make an appointment to visit the home where like us you will make the assessment that White Gables is the ONLY choice for residential care for you or your loved one.

Care Quality Commission

Suffolk care home is rated Outstanding by the Care Quality Commission

The Care Quality Commission has found the quality of care provided by White Gables Residential Care Home, in Felixstowe, Suffolk, to be Outstanding overall following an inspection carried out in January.

White Gables Care Home provides accommodation and personal care for 37 older people, some living with dementia.

Inspectors found staff were caring and compassionate and people were being provided with safe, responsive, caring, effective and well-led care. A full report of the inspection has been published on CQC’s website: http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-115606605

Under CQC’s new programme of inspections, all adult social care services are being given a rating according to whether they are safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led. White Gables Residential Care Home was rated Outstanding overall, Outstanding for being caring and well-led and Good for being safe, responsive and effective.

Jemima Burnage

CQC’s Head of Inspection for Adult Social Care in the central region

“Our inspection team were impressed by the level of care observed at White Gables Residential Care Home. People were consistently treated with outstanding kindness, respect and compassion.

“Staff were highly motivated and spoke passionately about their job and understood the importance of providing excellent care to the people living in the service.

“Meaningful relationships had been established between people and all the staff. Feedback from people and their relatives about the care they received was exceptionally complimentary acknowledging the exemplary approach of staff.

“The service had dynamic management and leadership. There was an open and inclusive culture within the service. Staff spoke highly of the management team, and told us they felt supported in their roles.

“All of this meant people received a high standard of care, which is why it has been rated Outstanding.”

Andrea Sutcliffe

CQC’s Head of Inspection for Adult Social Care in the central region

“The quality of care which our inspectors found here was exceptional and I am very pleased that we can celebrate the service’s achievements.

“An outstanding service is the result of a tremendous amount of hard work and commitment. I would like to thank and congratulate everyone involved.”

Jan Garfield

Mayor of Felixstowe


Niece of Resident/Service User

on Sunday 7 August 2016.

My aunt lived at White Gables for 3 ½ years, a real “home from home”, a welcoming, comfortable, happy house where the quality of care is immediately obvious. The tasteful decor and furnishings throughout contribute much to the homely feel. The choice and quality of meals is impressive and a good range of activities is on offer. The professionalism, expertise and understanding of the manageress are emulated by her staff, whose compassion, dedication, friendliness and good humour must make them second to none. My aunt often expressed how well she was looked after. Most importantly she felt that she was treated as an individual. Although my family live far from Felixstowe we visited regularly and felt part of the White Gables “family”. The support we all received during visits in the final weeks of my aunt’s life was very much appreciated and the way in which staff dealt with her end-of-life care, with such compassion and respect for her dignity, will never be forgotten.

Anne N

Daughter of Resident/Service User

on Sunday 10 April 2016.

My Mum moved to White Gables in March 2015 and lived there very happily until she died in March 2016. I visited often as did many other members of my family and my Mum’s friends. I found the care to be absolutely first class, the team are extremely dedicated, caring, patient and professional. Activities are frequent and Mum joined in a lot. All the residents are always smartly dressed in very clean, pressed and coordinated outfits. The team always do all they can to ensure that all the residents are respected with their dignity preserved.
I am especially grateful for the care they showed my Mum during the last week of her life, Mum didn’t want to go to hospital and the team ensured that she didn’t have to go. I sat with Mum for most of the last week of her life and in addition to all the tasks the team had to complete for all the residents they checked on Mum (and me) at least once an hour (day and night) keeping us both as comfortable as possible. I strongly recommend White Gables.

Jan Garfield

Mayor of Felixstowe

Sue Cook

Corporate Director for Children’s and Adult and Community Services

Alison Davies

“Outstanding love and care”

Reviewed on Jan 01 2016

My mother lived at White Gables for 11 1/2 years. During her time there the care given by ALL members of staff was outstandingly good. All aspects of her life were given consideration – interesting activities daily, opportunities to go on visits, stimulating speakers and entertainment, nutritious varied menus with plenty of choice and a clean, safe, warm home to live in. The regular residents and relatives meetings gave all stakeholders a chance to have a say in how things happened at the home.

The staff involved me in the care planning and, specifically, we were able to establish an end of life plan which was amazingly helpful to Mum and me. I was informed and consulted about any decisions needed to ensure that Mum was well cared for throughout the long time she lived at White Gables.

Over the time Mum was at White Gables, she gave the staff several challenges which were dealt with sensitively and appropriately. When she broke her ankle following a fall, she was unable to move herself and the staff enabled her to take a full part in the life of the home, in spite of her disability. They coped admirably with the demands she placed on them! Their patience and tolerance was astounding!!

At the end of her life, Mum was confined to her bed for over a month. I spent many hours with her and witnessed the professionalism and dedication of the staff. They treated her with dignity and respect. For a long period she was almost totally unresponsive and their care was amazing and I found it very touching. The support I was given during this long and very challenging time was unbelievable. Not only did the staff (care staff, cleaners, maintenance man, management and owners) give me emotional support but also ensured that I was fed and watered!

I really cannot praise the home and staff highly enough. Absolutely everyone employed there is professional, efficient and caring. I hope that if I have to go into care the same team will be there to look after me.

Sally Nurton

“Exceptional care for my elderly mother”

Reviewed on Mar 24 2014

My mother moved to this home aged 93. The staff gave her wonderful 24 hour care until she died 18 months later. During this time her health and mental facilities deteriorated but the care she received was second to none. She died in a loving home with staff at her bedside. The staff also looked after me and I became part of their overall care. I was always welcome there at any time and care of my mother was always discussed with me. My experience is that their care is without fault.


“Home from Home”

Reviewed on Jun 11 2013

As a family we found the staff of White Gables were always very friendly and welcoming. As visitors we were made to feel welcome by staff who have a “can do” attitude, where nothing was too much trouble.

In the time mum spent there she was happy and was always smartly turned out.
Everyone at White Gables treated mum with dignity and respect in her final hours, and couldn’t have done more.
We had no reason to look for alternative accommodation.
It certainly was Home from Home.

Thank you


“Highly regarded care home”

Reviewed on May 22 2013

My aunt was a resident of White Gables for 2 1/2 years. During that time her health gradually deteriorated and the care she needed increased accordingly until she passed away. The staff always went above and beyond the call of duty to keep the family informed of her well being and any requirements she needed. My aunt was always comfortable and well cared for. White Gables comes highly recommended!


“Totally wonderful care always”

Reviewed on Mar 02 2013

Mum has been resident at White Gables for some years and has been very happy and extremely well cared for. The home is well managed and all the staff are genuinely lovely people who do everything to make life as good as possible for all the residents.


“Best Possible Care Throughout”

Reviewed on Feb 19 2013

Mum was admitted as an emergency in January when a blip in her well being made it impossible for her her to remain in her own home.The care and concern given to both her and our family has been wonderful in what has been a quite traumatic time. We could not have chosen a better new home for her, nothing is too much trouble, all the staff have done everything possible to help her settle in. We cannot say enough good things about White Gables especially at a time when care homes get a bad press.


“Care second to none”

Reviewed on Feb 19 2013

As a Visitor who attends many care homes- I cannot recommend Whitegables more highly- the whole team have a truly person centred approach and deliver a personalised and high standard of care. The home is really beautifully maintained and has a homely feel while providing a hotel standard service. There is always a warm hospitable welcome for visitors.

Ian Irvine

“Wonderful Caring Staff”

Reviewed on Feb 19 2013

A huge ‘thank you’ to Alison and her wonderful team for looking after Dad so well during his short stay at White Gables.

From the moment my wife and I visited without an appointment we were immediately taken with the warmth of welcome, the light, airy and comfortable surroundings, the range of care and selection of interesting meals available. Straight away White Gables had a ‘family feel’.

Whenever visiting the home we always noticed the caring and thoughtful attitude of staff extended to all residents and towards my father in particular. Staff always appeared happy in their work and their smiles and easy manner spoke volumes. Dad soon settled and he told me and my mother many times when his health was more robust than latterly that he was happy and content in his ‘new home’. Staff always treated him with dignity and respect and it was clear to me he always felt comfortable in their presence.

When Dad’s health deteriorated this presented staff with a significant increase in attention and they responded superbly through to the very end which included the most sensitive preparation of Dad and his room to be viewed by us at such a difficult time.

We couldn’t have selected a better home for such a wonderful man. Thank you

His final days where he was cared for so caringly passed more rapidly than anticipated.

Alizon Sharun

“Excellent professional and loving care”

Reviewed on Sep 17 2012

Living in Canada, with my Mother needing full time care in England, presents many anxieties, but on my visits back to the UK, I have always been reassured that she is receiving the best of individual care in a comfortable setting. The staff combine expertise with a loving and professional attitude. For them it is not just a job. It is a vocation.

I highly recommend the excellent and nutritious food, elegantly served, good nursing care and daily focus on spiritual and recreational activities.

Christine Cooper

“Peace of Mind”

Reviewed on Sep 13 2012

After just two weeks at White Gables my Dad has become his old self again. Your kind care and attention have given him a new lease of life and peace of mind for me. Thank you.

Alison Davies

“Fantastic care, wonderful staff!”

Reviewed on Apr 02 2012

Since my mother went to live in White Gables in 2004 the care she has received has been excellent. The staff are kind, caring and try their hardest to keep residents as independent as possible for as long as possible. When times have been tough the staff have supported my mother and the family in a very positive way. The food quality, quantity and choice is outstanding. There are activities arranged on a daily basis in which residents can participate. I am so glad we found this care home.

Alasdair Millar

“Very attentive and caring staff”

Reviewed on Mar 16 2012

My mother has been a resident of Whitegables for several years after a stroke and I have been impressed over the standard of care, which I would rate as excellent. The facility has strong links to local general practices, a major advantage for my mother, and staff are fastidious in attending to the medical needs of the residents. My withheld star relates to a possible need for more mental stimulation – trips, etc – than is provided, especially for residents with maintained mental faculties.

David Stone

“Very good quality home”

Reviewed on Mar 14 2012

I am attorney for a resident who is Local Authority funded. Despite the care home receiving well below the true cost there is no evidence of this in the service provided. This resident needs frequent attention and this is always provided in a very caring manner. Though this resident doesn’t need attention outside of her room there is evidence of plenty of activities available within the home as well as the provision of external events including organised outings.

Lynda Pender

“Best care home in Suffolk”

Reviewed on Mar 09 2012

My mother had been in 2 care homes in Suffolk and 1 in South Yorkshire before she became a resident of White Gables in December 2011. She had had great difficulty in settling into care homes as she is suffering from mild dementia. From day one it was as if she had lived there for ever! She has become much more sociable as they have different activities each day. She is always smiling and loves all the staff. Every time I visit I am more impressed! Lucky day when I found White Gables.


“Tender loving top quality care”

Reviewed on Feb 22 2012

Both my parents spent their last few years in this lovely home. I lived far away so had to find a home i totally trusted to care for them. I looked at many homes, but only this one would do in spite of having to travel a long way to see them. They were cared for with the utmost dignity, respect and sensitivity, and given the privacy they needed to be together within the community of the home. It was indeed the very next best thing to being in their own home.

The kindness of staff never failed.